Reactive moves are move wasters

Post Reply
UEV
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:50 pm

Reactive moves are move wasters

Post by UEV » Sat May 17, 2008 2:38 pm

A reactive move is a move waster that not only keeps the enemy dominant, it also exposes your defense positions. When your opponent challenged one piece and the adjacent is well supported by your other untested pieces, you don't have to react at all as the reaction will not only cause you to waste a move, it will also endanger your defenses should your opponent take advantage of such by not calling your blluff. Not unless your flag piece is involved, then you are in trouble. Assuming your flag piece is generally safe, your reaction by moving pieces unnecessarily will only cost you a move away from your guard and further hint the opponent on where the actual support piece is. Also, you can't be certain if the attacking piece could really penetrate your defenses. He could have sent a decoy for all you can guess. If your pieces are untested but well guarded, your opponent will have to sacrifice his attacking piece in exchange for any of yours. But if you react by moving away or bringing in unnecessary support, not only will he pound on your reactive pieces with his back-up, he will also be able to detect your support and send his two spies and privates to eliminate even if yours were untested.

Provided all his untested pieces are within your diagonal reach, don't bother bringing in any further support. Maintain your ratio of one is to one for each untested. If you react by pulling in unnecessary support, you will waste your moves and expose your other flanks or the flag piece to actual danger. Instead of reacting to an opponent's attacking piece/s, march forward with your untested arsenal to surround what he left behind. This will shift him to a defensive. Remember there are only 7 strong pieces. Mathematically, every strong piece he uses up for attack means he's left one less for defense. You don't even have to bother wasting moves challenging his strong pieces so long it doesn't threaten your flag or the crossing border. If you know where they are, he can't harm you provided you maintain the dominant ratio and diagonal rule. The most he can do is make a perpetual to request for a tie.
Post Reply